Studio One: Literacy Three Ways

Part One

This section is a discussion on certain memories that I have from different parts of my Childhood. They are numbered so it is easier to follow which question they answer.

  1. I don’t remember the exact name of the book, but it was a children’s book with the gold binding on the side with some cartoon characters outlined in black. These had little short stories in them that were no more than ten or twelve pages long. The front of each book had a color picture on it with the characters for each story with the title of the book alongside the picture.
  2. The first time I made an attempt to read was when Mom was reading me a picture book. The book I cannot remember off the top of my head, but I was curious about it and liked Mom reading it to me. While she read it to me, she would stop and have me try to read the book a few words at a time. I know it took me several times to read off the words she was trying to get me to read from the book.
  3. The last book I was assigned in High School was ‘1984’. When I was reading the book, I enjoyed it deeply, but I also was disturbed by what was going on in it. The reason why I say this is that when I examined what the book had and what was going on in the world, I found it disturbing that the book and the real world that I saw through my eyes had similar events to one another.
  4. The earliest experience I had in a car that I can remember is going on 8 hour trips to see family or relatives my parents knew. I don’t remember hearing music, but I do remember my brain go anywhere it wanted when I was on a car trip. I do remember have a mobile DVD player that my parents let me have, but that wasn’t until I was about 8 or 9.
  5. The earliest music I remember being given is was a CD with a Christian Lullaby Album on it. It was played for me at night to help me go to sleep at night when I was little, but to be honest I would stay up and listen to the music and when it would stop, I would turn the music back on and listen to it more.
  6. The earliest TV show I can recall is Thomas and Friends. I liked it because it was a show about talking trains and my Mom was the one that gave me some of the Wooden Railroad toys. I still watch it on occasion, but only to see how the show is doing in recent years so I can know if it is still around for my kids.
  7. My earliest experience of being taught how to do a task was when my dad taught me how to build Bionicles, or showed me how to at least. If the plastic tub full of bionicle parts is a measure of success, I have to say that my dad did a good job showing me. I still hang onto them and like building with them from time to time.
  8. The first time I tried to teach someone else a task was teaching my dad how to play a Video Game. It was interesting playing against me in one of the Crash Bandicoot racing games. I beat him pretty well and it was interesting to watch.
  9. My first major failure wasn’t a real failure and it happened during a Boy Scout Jamboree in Virginia. At this Jamboree,  me and my Scout Troop would work on earning Merit Badges so we as a whole can gain the next Scout Rank. My first Merit Badge session was Fingerprinting and I listened throughout the lesson over FingerPrinting. After the lesson, we were able to fill out a worksheet and I was bent out of shape after I saw the results. It didn’t ruin my day, but it showed me that getting my Merit badges won’t be as easy as I thought.
  10. A success that I remember from my childhood occured when I moved from Florida to Clarksville, Virginia. My parents (particularly my Dad) knew that work was running out in Florida and it was about time to make the move to the next place that had work. When it came time to move, I didn’t understand what was going on and I thought it was the cause we were going on a trip. Well, I was surprised when I figured out that we were going to a completely different place. I wasn’t happy at first, but it later became the case that I sort of looked forward to where we were going after my Mom and Dad told me what was going on. When I was 5 or 6, I didn’t really change that much aside from the fact that I hate moving.

Part Two

This section dealt with the skills that I have, like the part before, each question is numbered so it is easier to follow and know which question is being answered.

  1. I know how to wash my clothes, write fiction, talk with girls, be able to write in block writing and cursive writing, type on the computer, organizing my computer, backpack camping, hiking, basic first aid, and fire building.
  2. Each thing I know how to do is from me learning from either Boy Scouts or from experience of me doing my own thing with hobbies that I have taken up.
  3. I would like to be literate in communication and to be more specific the communication of  my thoughts and knowledge more clearly and concisely.
  4. I would go to a communication club close to where I live or work because it would allow me to be able to go regularly. In addition to this, I would spend more time reading and changing myself and my reading level. By doing this, I can increase my vocabulary and be able to see grammar and wording that is more appropriate for communication.
  5. The second place I would likely go to Youtube and watch videos on communication and how people talk. This is for the simple reason that I can simply easily access tutorials and other materials quickly and be on the road to improving my communication skills.
  6. The reason why people should be able to communicate their thoughts and ideas more concisely than they normally would is for the simple reason that people are beginning to lack Soft Skills in most fields of work.
  7. The literacy of communication would benefit me and others in that myself and others can push ideas and thought out in a manner that most people can understand. It will benefit others in that if most people can communicate at a higher level, then more ideas can be communicated and less misunderstandings happen.
  8. Advance Communication is key in a modern world and to not have advance communication skills would place one’s self at a disadvantage. This disadvantage harms despite how smart a person is because they may not be able to  communicate their ideas in a manner that is appropriate, and as a result. They can easily be left behind by the rest of the world.

Part 3.

Part three of this Studio was related to drawing a map using a list of eleven (11) items/people/locations that I thought was important.

    1. Mr. Sparks
    2. Sean Edie
    3. None, No teacher or mentor I didn’t like.
    4. Mrs. Walker
    5. Mrs. Tucci
    6. Clarksville Elementary
    7. Bluestone Middle School/ Dover Middle School
    8. Dover High School
    9. Clarksville, Virginia
    10. ‘Lies my Teacher told Me’ Book Report
    11. UNC Charlotte

In addition to this, three other items were added to the list. These other items were given three criteria. These were:

Favorite way to Travel: By Train

Favorite Restaurant: Moe’s Southwest Grill

Two Things/places that are meaningful to you: Mount Baldie, Philemont and Cross Country.

Attached to this are photos of the front and back  of the map I drew.

 

Reflection

I enjoyed each activity in that I was able to relax and enjoy a project that doesn’t exactly pertain to an academic theme. My favorite part of this project was the First Part of the project since I felt nostalgic as I looked back at my life so far and the memories I have of a time when I didn’t have to worry about school. The hardest part for me was the Second Part of the project. The reason being is that I find it difficult to talk about myself in front of others or writing traits about myself.

I enjoyed each part of the project because I was able to relax and enjoy myself with this project. The reason why I say I enjoyed myself with this project is that I was able to express myself but also to figure out what I have at my disposal in my traits and skills. This project helped me get an understanding of how the terminology we used can be applied to my own self. How I can say this is that this project had me look back as see what Markers were placed in my life that I could see and what History I had with a given trait or skill. I personally look forward to more projects/Studios like this one.

 

Leave a comment